

World Association of Societies of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (WASPaLM)

WASPaLM BUREAU

President

Lai-Meng Looi, Malaysia

President Elect

Masami Murakami, Japan

Secretary Treasurer

Jagdish Butany, Canada

Past President

Gamze Mocan Kuzey, Turkey

DIRECTORS

Africa

Tjaart Erasmus, South Africa

America, North

Fred Rodriguez, United States

Latin America

Roberto Ruiz-Arenas, Mexico

Australasia

Stewart Bryant, Australia

Asia

Annie Cheung, Hong Kong

Europe

Michael Oellerich, Germany

Additional Directors

Marilene Melo, Brazil Dobrin Svinarov, Bulgaria David Wilkinson, United States Lia Partakusuma, Indonesia

WORLD PATHOLOGY FOUNDATION

President

Robby Bacchus

Vice President

Roberto Verna

Treasurer

Henry Travers

Secretary

Lai Meng Looi

WASPaLM ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE

310 - 4 Cataraqui Street Kingston, Ontario, K7K 1Z7 Canada

T: +1-613-531-9210

F: +1-613-531-0626

E: waspalm@eventsmgt.com

MINUTES WASPaLM House of Representatives Meeting Wednesday November 18, 2015 Cancun, Mexico



World Association of Societies of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (WASPaLM)

Minutes of the WASPaLM House of Representatives Meeting

1130-1345 ET, Wednesday November 18, 2015 Contoy Room, Cancun Centre, Cancun, Mexico

Present: Dr. Lai Meng Looi, Chair

Dr. Stewart Bryant Dr. Jagdish Butany Dr. Nairo Massakazu Dr. Marilene Melo Dr. Gamze Mocan

Dr. Massami Murakami Dr. Michael Oellerich Dr. Jorge Olmedo

Dr. Roberto Ruiz-Arenas Dr. Dobrin Svinarov Dr. Pete Travers Prof. Roberto Verna Dr. David S. Wilkinson

Dr. Dogan Yucel, Turkish Biochemical Society; by proxy to Dr. Gamze Mocan

Invited Guests: Pamela Lyons, WASPaLM Administrator

1. Welcome

The meeting was called to order at 1130, Dr. Looi and Dr. Murakami presiding as co-chairs.

A minute of silence was observed for the victims of the recent terrorist attacks in Paris.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

The Agenda was adopted with addition of item 9 Awards Committee.

3. Presidents Report

Dr. Looi provided a summary of the activities over the past year.

Committees are encouraged to use the resources of the administrative office.

4. Secretary Treasurers report

There has been a significant effort over the past year to propose revisions to the By-laws. These will be presented to the membership for voting prior to the next election process.

The association is in a positive financial position and the financial results for the year are in line with the budgeted amounts.

5. World Pathology Foundation

Two Gordon Sydney Fellows have been selected for 2016. In addition, a third Fellow will be supported for 2016. This additional Fellow is a person from Nepal who was originally chosen for 2015, but due to the earthquake was unable to participate. The WPF agreed to support her to do the training program in 2016.

The Gordon Sydney Fellow application form will be modified to require copies of credentials, a C.V., and a letter of reference from their current training program. The applicants will also be asked to disclose additional sources of support for the training program.

The stipend has been increased to \$7,500 – the additional \$2500 is discretionary which the trustees have the option to grant for training over 3 months.

6. Update on the International Education Activities/Program

Dr. Looi presented a chart of the activities over the 2013-2015 term.

There have been quite a number of educational activities around the world in the past few years and there are plans to continue activities next year.

7. WASPaLM By Law Changes and Updates

The By-laws committee has been active over the past year. The substantive changes proposed are:

The substantive changes are:

- 1. Change of the name of the Nominating Committee to Elections Committee, Chaired by the Secretary-Treasurer
- 2. Office Bearers: the Past-President would no longer be a member of the Bureau
- 3. The Directors would represent the six WHO regions and one for North America
- 4. The Membership in WASPaLM would be of two categories:
 - i) Constituent Societies
 - ii) Associate Member Societies
- 5. The Election process would be cut back to a more streamlined one, which would last no more than four months.
 - a) Process to be completed at least 2 months prior to the next World Congress
- 6. The WASPaLM Bureau would have the right to nominate a member society to sit on the Bureau, if there were no candidates submitted from that region.

Two concerns have been raised:

- Lack of succession planning if don't have directors at large and only have regional representatives
- Split feelings on whether the Past President should have a role

It was agreed that the changes will be further discussed by the new Bureau, and then sent to the lawyer for compliant wording.

The Constituent Societies will then be asked to vote on the changes.

8. Introduction of the New WASPaLM Bureau

Members of the Bureau 2015-2017:

President – Dr. Masami Murakami President Elect – Dr. Roberto Verna Past-President – Dr. Lai-Meng Looi Secretary Treasurer – Dr. Jagdish Butany

Director – Australia – Dr. Peter Michael Stewart

Director – Africa – Dr. Izak Loftus

Director - Latin America - Dr. Marilene Melo

Director – Europe – Dr. Michael Oellerich

Director - Asia - Dr. Annie Cheung

Director – North America – Dr. David Wilkinson

Director at Large - Japan - Dr. Toshiyuki Yamada

Director at Large – Dr. Michael William Harrison

Director at Large - Dr. July Kumalawati

Director at Large- Dr. Dobrin Svinarov

9. Remarks by Dr. Murakami, New WASPaLM President

Dr. Murakami noted increased participation by members in Japan. He would like to expand membership to more societies and increase in corporate sponsorship.

Dr. Michael Oellerich will chair the Sponsorship Committee.

WASPaLM needs to maintain communications with international organizations (WHO, IFCC, etc.)

Dr. Murakami will continue to work on visibility and growth of the organization.

10. Other Business

WASPaLM will create a calendar of events of Constituent Societies and other major meetings (IFCC) for the website.

It was suggested that WASPaLM representatives participate in regional meetings.

Dr. Looi was thanked for her great contributions to WASPaLM over her 2013-2015 term of President.

The meeting was terminated at 1345 ET.